‘A Night at the Museum’

‘A Night at the Museum’

12/07/2017, 4:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Seiberling Mansion

Feliz Navidad! Join in a Mexican-flavored celebration of the Christmas season Thursday, Dec. 7, when Ivy Tech Community College welcomes visitors to “A Night at the Museum: Christmas Around the World.” Courtesy of Ivy Tech, the festively decorated Seiberling Mansion, 1200 W. Sycamore St., will be open to the public without charge from 4 to 8 p.m.

This year, the mansion, home of the Howard County Museum, is filled with decorations featuring the traditions of countries including Russia, Norway, Ireland, and Holland. Ivy Tech took a festival approach with the colorful hand-made paper flowers, fringed garland, sombreros, and piñatas of South of the Border. The Dec. 7 event will even feature music by a mariachi band.

“This is the third year Ivy Tech has served as one of the sponsors for free community nights at the museum – and we are excited to be part of the 2017 edition,” said Kim King, acting chancellor for Ivy Tech’s Kokomo Campus. “We hope families will take advantage of this great opportunity to bring their children and view the wonders of ‘Christmas Around the World’ as our guests.”

For more information about the Howard County Historical Society’s “Christmas at the Seiberling,” which runs through Dec. 29, contact the society at 765-452-4314 or check out its website at www.howardcountymuseum.org .

Ivy Tech Community College is the state's largest public postsecondary institution and the nation's largest singly accredited statewide community college system. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.
Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Region serves Cass, Fulton, Howard, Miami, and Tipton counties and includes campuses or instructional sites in the communities of Kokomo, Logansport, Peru, and Rochester.